Please ensure Javascript is enabled for purposes of website accessibility Aggressive behaviors in children diagnosed with autism

Aggressive behaviors in children diagnosed with autism

السلوكيات العدوانية لدى الأطفال المشخصين بالتوحد

Aggressive behaviors in children diagnosed with autism spectrum disorder

Writer: Dr.. Connie Anderson Translated: a. Lujain Bin Jadid

Aggressive behaviors in children diagnosed with autism spectrum disorder often cause many difficulties for the individual’s daily life and for the parents as well. Hitting, biting, throwing things, and other behaviors common during a tantrum or meltdown can put a lot of stress on the parent, as the parent’s reactions can exacerbate and make some behavioral problems worse.

The conflict of aggressive behaviors in children diagnosed with autism spectrum disorder with the goals that work to help the child in the educational process may lead to this, These behaviors may prevent the child from school activities such as, After-school programs and sports clubs.

Also, fear of aggressive behavior from the child may keep parents at home, making them feel isolated and their quality of life reduced, in order to avoid falling into the trouble and anxiety caused by these behaviors outside the home.

Some questions about aggressive behaviors in children diagnosed with autism

Despite the importance of the issue of aggressive behavior among children diagnosed with autism spectrum disorder and their families in particular, However, researchers in the field of autism spectrum disorder have researched it only a little. Steven Kahn and Mika Mazurek of the Thompson Center for Autism and Neurodevelopmental Disorders at the University of Missouri explore the following two questions:

What are the risk factors associated with aggressive behaviors in children diagnosed with autism?

A research study on children’s development and behavior was conducted at 13 university-based autism centers across North America.

Many studies have been conducted on risk factors for aggressive behaviors in children who do not have any disabilities.

Some factors have been linked, such as:

  • Males more than females.
  • Low IQ.
  • The economic situation of the family and low family income.
  • Low level of parental education.
  • The way parents deal with children.

We focused on only a few individual cases. Not on risk factors for individuals diagnosed with autism as a group.

Aggressive behaviors were carefully evaluated in (1,380) children diagnosed with autism disorder, between the ages of 4 and 17 years. Therefore, the results of assessments for autism disorder were presented, including the observation schedule for the diagnosis of autism disorder, the diagnostic interview for autism, and a review of the results of intelligence tests and measures of repetitive behaviors. receptive language, Emotional and behavioral performance.

What percentage of children diagnosed with autism have aggressive behaviors?

Among the research group consisting of (1380) children diagnosed with autism disorder, The researchers found that 56% of them had aggressive behaviors towards their caregivers, While 32% of them had aggressive behaviors towards non-caregivers.

Previously, similarly, 68% of children diagnosed with autism had aggressive behaviors toward their caregivers. While 49% of them were towards non-caregivers. These rates are high, especially when we compare them to the rates of individuals diagnosed with intellectual disability. Their aggressive behavior ranged from only 7% to 11%. Therefore, this study provides strong evidence that these aggressive behaviors represent many challenges for families of children diagnosed with autism.

What are the risk factors associated with aggressive behaviors in children diagnosed with autism?

The researchers wondered whether the same factors associated with aggressive behaviors in children diagnosed with autism were the same as in children not diagnosed with autism or other developmental disabilities.

The children were divided into two groups:

(489) children, They showed some aggressive behavior such as hitting and biting, And (549) children did not display aggressive behaviors or they were rare. also, The researchers removed the children with moderate aggressive behaviors so that the two groups were separate.

Many of the risk factors found to be associated with aggressive behaviors in children without diagnosed autism or other developmental disabilities do not apply at all to children diagnosed with autism.

Example, Males are usually associated with an increased risk of aggressive behavior, But this is not the case among children diagnosed with autism. Girls and boys diagnosed with autism are likely to have the same rates of aggressive behavior.

also, Low parental education, low IQ, and low language or communication ability may be associated with a risk of aggressive behaviors in children not diagnosed with autism or other developmental disorders as opposed to children diagnosed with autism. The only factor that seems to work in the same way for both groups between children diagnosed with and undiagnosed autism is (age). So, In both groups, the younger the child, the The more likely the child will be aggressive.

Children diagnosed with autism and who have aggressive behaviors are those who have high rates of:

  • repetitive behaviors, Especially self-harm or restrictive behaviors and extreme resistance to change.
  • Poor social interaction.
  • Average household income.

Available information has not allowed researchers to explore when and why children diagnosed with autism have some violent tantrums.

Children not diagnosed with autism or other developmental disorders use aggressive behaviors to achieve social goals such as, Draw attention or avoid requests from adults.

As for children diagnosed with autism, especially males, they may exhibit aggressive behaviors when others interfere with their repetitive behaviors. Or when someone takes away some of the things they need to continue the routine or repetitive behavior, Or when they try to escape from uncomfortable sensory input.

So, The study identified a link between repetitive behaviors and aggressive behaviors in children diagnosed with autism.

In this puzzling result, the researchers expected that higher-income families would have greater access to interventions with children diagnosed with autism and therefore would have less aggressive behavior.

The question here is, Why might high family income be associated with an increased risk of aggressive behaviors in children diagnosed with autism?

It is possible that families with higher incomes are more able to access interventions that are frustrating and ineffective for children diagnosed with autism. Therefore, these situations may lead to the emergence of aggressive behaviors.

Another possibility is that families at different income levels may be more or less likely to report aggressive behaviors in their children. Low-income families may be more sensitive to parents’ potential criticism and blame for their children’s aggressive behavior. While high-income families may feel secure about society’s blaming them and therefore, They may report more freely about their children’s aggressive behaviors.

So we need more research to see if these unexpected results hold up over time. If so, How can these results be explained?

Highlighting aggressive behaviors in children diagnosed with autism and helping families overcome these challenges facing them

This study provides confirmation that aggression is a major issue for caregivers of children diagnosed with autism. What confirms the validity of the experience of many of them in laying the foundations for future research, This study also confirms, The urgent need for more effective interventions and how to reduce aggressive behaviors in children diagnosed with autism and support families on how to deal with them.

Reference:

SPARK for Autism | Children With Autism and Aggression

الأبعاد السبعة لخدمات تحليل السلوك التطبيقي

السلوكيات العدوانية لدى الأطفال المشخصين بالتوحد

السلوكيات العدونية لدى الأطفال المشخصين بالتوحد

السلوكيات العدوانية لدى الأطفال المشخصين  باضطراب طيف التوحد 

الكاتبة: د. كوني أندرسون ترجمة: أ. لجين بن جديد

إن السلوكيات العدوانية لدى الأطفال المشخصين باضطراب طيف التوحد غالباً ما تسبب الكثير من المصاعب على حياة الفرد اليومية وعلى الوالدين أيضاً، يمكن أن يؤدي الضرب والعض ورمي الأشياء وغيرها من السلوكيات الشائعة أثناء نوبة الغضب أو الانهيار إلى زيادة الجهد الكبير على الوالدين حيث يمكن أن تؤدي ردود فعل الوالدين إلى زيادة بعض المشاكل السلوكية وجعلها أسوأ.

قد يؤدي تعارض السلوكيات العدوانية لدى الأطفال المشخصين باضطراب طيف التوحد مع الأهداف التي تعمل على مساعدة الطفل في العملية التعليمية لذلك، قد تتسبب هذه السلوكيات في منع الطفل من الأنشطة المدرسية مثل، برامج ما بعد المدرسة والنوادي الرياضية.

 أيضاً قد يؤدي الخوف من السلوكيات العدوانية الصادرة من الطفل إلى إبقاء الوالدين في المنزل مما يجعلهم يشعرون بالعزلة وانخفاض جودة حياتهم وذلك لتجنب الوقوع في المتاعب والقلق التي تسببها هذه السلوكيات خارج المنزل.

بعض من الأسئلة حول السلوكيات العدوانية لدى الأطفال المشخصين بالتوحد 

على الرغم من أهمية موضوع  السلوكيات العدوانية لدى الأطفال المشخصين باضطراب طيف التوحد وأسرهم خاصة، إلا أن الباحثين في مجال اضطراب طيف التوحد لم يبحثوا فيها إلا قليل، يوضح كل من ستيفن كان و ميكا مازوريك من مركز طومسون للتوحد واضطرابات النمو العصبي بجامعة ميسوري في استكشاف السؤالين التاليين:

ما هي عوامل الخطر المرتبطة بالسلوكيات العدوانية لدى الأطفال المشخصين بالتوحد؟

تم إجراء دراسة بحثية حول نمو الأطفال وسلوكهم في 13 مركزاً جامعياً للتوحد في جميع أنحاء أمريكا الشمالية، 

تم إجراء العديد من الدراسات حول عوامل الخطر للسلوكيات العدوانية لدى الأطفال الذين ليس لديهم أي إعاقات.

تم ارتباط بعض من العوامل مثل:

  •  الذكور أكثر من الإناث.
  • انخفاض معدل الذكاء.
  • الوضع الاقتصادي للأسرة وانخفاض الدخل الأسري.
  • انخفاض مستوى تعليم الوالدين.
  • أسلوب تعامل الوالدين مع الأطفال.

تم التركيز على بعض الحالات الفردية القليلة فقط، وليس على عوامل الخطر للأفراد المشخصين بالتوحد كمجموعة.

تم تقييم السلوكيات العدوانية بعناية لدى (1380) طفلاً مشخص باضطراب التوحد حيث تتراوح أعمارهم ما بين 4 سنوات و 17 سنة لذلك تم ظهور نتائج التقييمات لاضطراب التوحد بما في ذلك جدول مراقبة تشخيص اضطراب التوحد و المقابلة التشخيصية للتوحد ومراجعة نتائج اختبارات الذكاء ومقاييس السلوكيات المتكررة، واللغة الاستقبالية، والأداء العاطفي والسلوكي.

ما هي نسبة الأطفال المشخصين بالتوحد الذين لديهم السلوكيات العدوانية؟

من بين المجموعة البحثية المكونة من  (1380) طفلاً مشخصاً باضطراب التوحد، حيث وجد الباحثون أن 56% منهم كانت لديهم السلوكيات العدوانية تجاه مقدمي الرعاية لهم، بينما 32% منهم كانت سلوكياتهم العدوانية على غير مقدمي الرعاية.

في السابق وبشكل مشابه، إن 68% من الأطفال المشخصين بالتوحد كانت لديهم السلوكيات العدوانية تجاه مقدمي الرعاية لهم، بينما 49% منهم كانت تجاه لغير مقدمي الرعاية. إن هذه المعدلات عالية خاصة عندما نقوم بمقارنتها بمعدلات الأفراد المشخصين بالإعاقة الفكرية، حيث كان السلوك العدواني لديهم من 7% إلى 11% فقط . لذلك إن هذه الدراسة تقدم دليلاً قوياً على أن هذه السلوكيات العدوانية  تمثل الكثير من التحديات لعائلات الأطفال المشخصين بالتوحد.

ما هي عوامل الخطر المرتبطة بالسلوكيات العدوانية لدى الأطفال المشخصين بالتوحد؟

قام الباحثون بالتساؤل ما إذا كانت نفس العوامل المرتبطة بالسلوكيات العدوانية لدى الأطفال المشخصين بالتوحد  نفسها لدى الأطفال غير المشخصين بالتوحد أو الإعاقات النمائية الأخرى.

فقد تم تقسيم الأطفال إلى مجموعتين:

(489) طفلاً، قد أظهروا بعض من السلوكيات العدوانية مثل الضرب والعض، و (549) طفلاً لم يقوموا بإظهار السلوكيات العدوانية أو كانت نادرة. أيضاً، قام الباحثون بإزالة الأطفال الذين لديهم سلوكيات عدوانية متوسطة حتى تكون المجموعتين منفصلة.

تم اكتشاف العديد من عوامل الخطر المرتبطة بالسلوكيات العدوانية لدى الأطفال غير المشخصين بالتوحد أو الإعاقات النمائية الأخرى لا تنطبق إطلاقاً على الأطفال المشخصين بالتوحد.

مثال، عادة ما يرتبط إن الذكور لديهم زيادة خطر السلوك العدواني، ولكن ليس هذا الحال بين الأطفال المشخصين بالتوحد، إن البنات والذكور المشخصين بالتوحد من المرجح أن يكونوا بنفس معدلات السلوكيات العدوانية. 

أيضاً، قد يرتبط انخفاض تعليم الوالدين وانخفاض معدل الذكاء وانخفاض اللغة أو القدرة على التواصل بخطر السلوكيات العدوانية لدى الأطفال غير المشخصين بالتوحد أو الاضطرابات النمائية الأخرى على عكس الأطفال المشخصين بالتوحد، حيث أن العامل الوحيد الذي يبدو أنه يعمل بنفس الطريقة لكلا المجموعتين بين الأطفال المشخصين بالتوحد وغير المشخصين هو (العمر). لذلك، في كلا المجموعتين كلما كان الطفل أصغر سناً، كلما زاد احتمالية أن يكون الطفل عدواني.

إن الأطفال المشخصين بالتوحد و لديهم  السلوكيات العدوانية هم أولئك الذين لديهم معدلات بنسبة عالية من:  

  • السلوكيات التكرارية، خاصة سلوكيات إيذاء النفس أو السلوكيات المقيدة والمقاومة الشديدة للتغيير.
  • ضعف التفاعل الاجتماعي.
  • دخل أسرة متوسط.

لم تسمح المعلومات المتاحة للباحثين باستكشاف متى ولماذا لدى الأطفال المشخصين بالتوحد لديهم بعض من نوبات الغضب العنيفة.

إن الأطفال غير المشخصين بالتوحد أو الاضطرابات النمائية الأخرى يستخدمون السلوكيات العدوانية لتحقيق أهداف اجتماعية مثل، لفت الانتباه أو تجنب طلبات الأفراد البالغين.

أما بخصوص الأطفال المشخصين بالتوحد وخاصة الذكور قد تصدر منهم السلوكيات العدوانية عندما يقوم الآخرين بالتدخل في السلوكيات التكرارية لديهم، أو عندما يقوم أحدهم بسحب بعض الأشياء التي يحتاجونها لمواصلة الروتين أو السلوك التكراري، أو عندما يحاولون الهروب من المدخلات الحسية الغير مريحة لديهم.

لذلك، الدراسة حددت وجود صلة بين السلوكيات التكرارية والسلوكيات العدوانية لدى الأطفال المشخصين بالتوحد.

وفي هذه النتيجة المحيرة للباحثين فقد توقعوا أن العائلات مرتفعة الدخل لديها وصول أكبر إلى التدخلات مع الأطفال المشخصين بالتوحد وبالتالي سوف يكون ظهور السلوكيات العدوانية لديهم قليل.

والسؤال هنا، لماذا قد يرتبط دخل الأسرة المرتفع بزيادة مخاطر السلوكيات العدوانية لدى الأطفال المشخصين بالتوحد؟

من الممكن أن تكون الأسر ذات الدخل المرتفع أكثر قدرة على الوصول إلى التدخلات التي تكون محبطة وغير فعَالة للأطفال المشخصين بالتوحد، وبالتالي قد تؤدي هذه المواقف إلى ظهور السلوكيات العدوانية.

إن الاحتمال الآخر هو أن الأسر الذين يكونون في مستويات دخل مختلفة قد يكونون أكثر أو أقل عرضة للتصريح عن ظهور السلوكيات العدوانية لدى أطفالهم، وربما قد تكون الأسر ذوي الدخل المنخفض أكثر حساسية تجاه النقد المحتمل للوالدين ولومهم على السلوك العدواني لأطفالهم ، في حين أن الأسر ذوي الدخل المرتفع قد يشعرون بالأمان تجاه لوم المجتمع لهم وبالتالي، قد يصرحون بحرية أكثر عن السلوكيات العدوانية التي يصدرها أطفالهم. 

لذلك نحن بحاجة إلى المزيد من البحث لمعرفة ما إذا كانت هذه النتائج غير المتوقعة قد تصمد مع مرور الوقت، وإذا كان الأمر كذلك، فكيف يمكن تفسير هذه النتائج؟

تسليط الضوء على السلوكيات العدوانية لدى الأطفال المشخصين بالتوحد ومساعدة الأسر على تغلب هذه التحديات الموجه لهم

 حيث تقدم هذه الدراسة تأكيداً على أن العدوانية هي قضية رئيسية لمقدمي الرعاية للأطفال المشخصين بالتوحد، ومما يؤكد صحة تجربة الكثيرين منهم في وضع الأساسيات للبحث في المستقبل، وتؤكد هذه الدراسة أيضاً، الحاجة الملحة إلى المزيد من التدخلات الفعَالة وكيفية خفض السلوكيات العدوانية لدى الأطفال المشخصين بالتوحد ودعم الأسر على كيفية التعامل معها.

المرجع:

SPARK for Autism | Children With Autism and Aggression